water damaged vintage table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 06-18-2019, 01:09 AM Thread Starter

View dvdnj's Photo Album My Photos
water damaged vintage table

Hi - newbie here!!! hope you guys can help because You Tube is getting so confusing!

I'm sorry that I'll only be asking and not contributing to this forum -- since this is my first project - lol! But looking over the responses from a lot of you it seems you guys know your stuff - so this seems like the place to be for my first project! :-)

I have a art deco card table (unfolds to use it as such) - that I believe has a mahogany veneer [maybe you can confirm that with the close up?] I had a small leak from my roof that I did not realize moisture was getting in between the closed/folded panels. I recently opened the table to this (see 1st photo). I was heart-broken. I'm sure I'll have a lot of questions as I start the project but let's start with the basics: I want to confirm that I will indeed need to refinish the entire 'top' (surface that you see in the photo - not the actual top - which I am almost certain will need refinishing - but that is for another thread)? It appears that the veneer itself is intact -- but only the finish is damaged. Also, except for the moisture damaged areas, the rest of the table 'top' is actually in very good condition - nothing that a little Howard's couldn't 'cure'. Can -- or better yet - should this be repaired without total refinishing? For now I do not need refinishing advice (I'll get back to you with another thread for that :-) - just whether it needs refinishing - and, if not, what would you suggest?

Thank you,
Diane
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	art deco card table3.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	326.4 KB
ID:	376431  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190618_002218.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	456.6 KB
ID:	376433  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-18-2019, 08:12 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos