Water based clear coats - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 12-03-2006, 09:34 PM Thread Starter

View C&D Woodcraft's Photo Album My Photos
Water based clear coats

Okay, so I just got a new toy--an HVLP sprayer. I shopped around for awhile and ended up buying the SW8100 (3 stage turbine) from the local Sherwin Williams store. I liked the idea of having a physical location I can go to if I have any issues.
I've only been spraying latex paint so far, I'm starting to get the hang or it. I know it can also spray lacquers too, if thinned a little.
My biggest issue I have found so far is that the gun takes a long time to clean, I'm thinking I'm going to go broke in clean-up if I'm spraying oil based.
I've never used water based clear coats before, but I'm wondering if you all have ever tried or what your success has been.

Thanks.

--Darrell
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 12-09-2006, 10:41 PM

View formula462's Photo Album My Photos
I have never used water base thru a sprayer but I have been using the wipe on/brush on from General Finishes with great results and like you the water cleanup would save time and money.
post #3 of 16 Old 12-15-2006, 11:29 PM

View joewho's Photo Album My Photos
Never used water base through a sprayer, but the two factors are, bubbles and it's thin. Post back after you've sprayed it, sounds interesting. (watch out for bubbles)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 01-07-2007, 12:17 AM

View Plowboy's Photo Album My Photos
I've been using a Wagner low pressure sprayer for the last year. Instead of the more expensive HVLP turbine models, I went for the $99 Wagner after seeing a good review in one of the wood working mags. I've loved it. Saves me a ton of time and product.