Problem with shellac finish - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes

post #1 of 22 Old 03-06-2019, 07:36 AM Thread Starter

View DaSOB's Photo Album My Photos
Question Problem with shellac finish

Howdy -

I just joined this forum, and I'm seeking some help with a shellac finish. I'm not a professional, but I'm hoping to get some guidance with this matter.

First though, I'll explain my forum handle, DaSOB. My actual initials are SOB, so it's a tongue-in-cheek thing. I'm not an SOB in real life, just online!

I'm retired, 67, and my hobby is collecting old military firearms. I'm refinishing the stock of one back to original condition, which involves a tinted shellac finish. I used Zinsser Amber Shellac cut to 1.5# with DNA, and Rit dye mixed to obtain the proper color (deep reddish-brown). The finish looks authentic, but the shellac doesn't seem to be curing all the way. It's dry to the touch, but in handling the stock, my body warmth eventually makes the finish take fingerprints and even fabric imprints. I've been able to "wash" it gently with a mixture of DNA and Amber Shellac and return it to the original finish, but now I avoid touching the wood lest the finish get marred again. This is problematic if I wish to take the rifle to the local range to shoot it.

The finish is three or four days old, and I thought it would have cured completely by now, but apparently it hasn't. I'm hoping that someone can educate me a bit on this, let me know if I need to let the finish cure longer, or whatever else I may need to do.

Any and all help will be appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 03-06-2019, 09:06 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaSOB View Post
Howdy -

I just joined this forum, and I'm seeking some help with a shellac finish. I'm not a professional, but I'm hoping to get some guidance with this matter.