Polycrylic still not ready to use? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 07-14-2012, 07:08 AM Thread Starter

View NoSleepTill's Photo Album My Photos
Polycrylic still not ready to use?

I'm a novice with this stuff so I don't know what I did wrong, if anything.

I am painting a cabinet. I took unfinished birch, primed it with two coats, painted with 2 coats of black acrylic-latex paint, waited 5 weeks to be sure it cured, and then lightly sanded and added about 4 thin coats of Minwax Polycrylic.

The can states I can use as normal within 24 hours. It's very, very humid here so I've given it more time. It's been about 10 days and last night I put a glass of olive oil on it with rough edges on the bottom. I took it off today to see it had left indentations in the finish.

Not sure what I did wrong. I thought the Polycrylic would dry rock hard and it's been a week and a half and apparently it's not.

Anything I can do to fix this to make sure I can place things on this Polycrylic finish without worry it will stick to objects?

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-14-2012, 07:37 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
After that length of time it should be more than ready to use. It sounds to me like given your humidity problem you didn't allow enough time between coats for drying time. Sometimes in high humidity you have to wait much longer between coats than the directions say. I think you have either the black paint or some of the polycrylic underneath that is still wet. It may take a very long time however I think if you wait it out it will eventually cure. You could go ahead and use the piece and after you thing it's hardened up enough fix whatever indentations you may have gotten on it using it.