Poly: spray versus brush? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes

post #1 of 24 Old 02-03-2016, 08:27 AM Thread Starter

View Danny870's Photo Album My Photos
Poly: spray versus brush?

Hey guys, I was wondering what is the optimal method of application for applying poly (satin poly in my case) over stains/paints for stuff like kitchen cabinets? I have been a cabinet builder for a while, but have little experience in applying a finish, and being that I am now doing some moonlighting on the side to bring in some extra income, I need to get this down. At work, we have dedicated airless spray rigs like the ones you can get from Lowes or Shermin Williams. I would prefer to brush on the poly rather than buy a spray rig, but would that yeild the same results?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 02-03-2016, 09:11 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Your finish would definitely be better sprayed. That often creates a problem where you do it though. With polyurethane the cloud of overspray that drifts away from what you spray will settle and stick to everything. It's not feasible to use in a house for that reason. You almost have to have a spray booth to do it. Used in the shop it will stick to your tools. What would make your life a lot easier is to use a finish that would dry faster than polyurethane. You might consider a lacquer or conversion varnish. With these finishes you could finish the cabinets in the home. The cloud of overspray that drifts away will settle as dry dust, easily wiped off. Also with polyurethane you can usually can only do one coat per day. With a faster finish you could seal it and put two coats of finish on and be done in one day.

As far as putting a clear finish over a paint you have to be very careful not to use one that yellows as that will affect the color. An oil based finish should be ruled out as they tend to yellow. An acrylic finish should be used for this application.
post #3 of 24 Old 02-03-2016, 10:47 AM