New guy here.. need advice for stain - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-15-2012, 10:32 AM Thread Starter

View RobbieH's Photo Album My Photos
New guy here.. need advice for stain

Hi all. Love this site and have seen lots of great builds

I have never done any kind of wood work before, but am interested in getting into it. I own some land and have always liked log furniture.

I'd love to start off by building something simple, like a tv stand (not a whole entertainment center, but just a table stand).

I'll start by going into my woods and finding something to use for the 4 legs (probably pine, maple or birch).

ok..here are some questions.
1. I've seen birch furniture that still has the bark on it. What can I use to "preserve" the bark and wood so it doesn't rot or go bad?

2. If I use maple or pine, I will strip the bark off. How long do I let it dry out for, and what do I use to stain it?

Sorry if these are dumb questions. Like I said, I'm very new at this

Thanks for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-16-2012, 01:05 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
There is not a lot you can do to retard the birch bark from pealing. Probably to seal the ends of the logs with paraffin wax to prevent them from splitting is all you can do. The best thing you could do is choose when you cut the wood. If it is cut in spring the bark is more likely to peal than if it was cut in winter.

Your wood won't be seasoned for years. You should be safe to stain in 6 weeks after de-barking it. If you use a film coating on it, I would go as thin as possible until the wood is seasoned. The wood is going to shrink more and if you put a heavy finish on it, it may crack badly.
post #3 of 8 Old 09-16-2012, 02:33 PM Thread Starter