Need Advice On Kitchen Project; Cabinets and Kitchen Counter-Top - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 08-10-2013, 04:44 PM Thread Starter

View Talan's Photo Album My Photos
Question Need Advice On Kitchen Project; Cabinets and Kitchen Counter-Top

This is my 1st true Woodworking project and through trial and error and hours of Internet searches I have learned a lot. I started practicing on some refinishing some older Cutting Boards and a small shelving unit someone gave us years ago. This let me practice using my Orbit Sander and using some different Finishes.

I am still confused about all the different types of Stains and Top Coat options.

I decided to refinish all our Kitchen Cabinet Drawer's, Doors and Faces. I am sanding them down to a final 150 grit. I have been told that the Wood is Alder by the people at Wood Crafters.

Using General Finishes Golden Pine Gel Stain and General Finishes Arm-R-seal Oil and Urethane Top Coat. I am doing 5 Coats of Topcoat with 0000 Steel Wool between all coats but the last one.

Am I going about this correctly?

Second and most important question...

I would like to build some CounterTops from Red Oak, Walnut or other Hardwood. I am getting mixed messages on attempting this.

Are Wooden CounterTops a bad idea? We will not be doing Food Prep directly on the Wood and we will not use the CounterTop for a cutting board.

Has anyone done this? What is the best process for doing this, what type of Satin finish should I use? ANY help or guidance would be greatly appreciated. My biggest concern is wear and water. We plan on living here a least another 10 years.

I think Wood would look great but maybe I am opening a can of worms, save me from an expensive mistake.

Sorry so long, just wanting to give out as much detail as I can.

Thanks in advance for any advice!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 08-10-2013, 05:18 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos