Motivated to fix reclaimed wood table. Please help! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 07-23-2016, 05:11 PM Thread Starter

View i3rynn's Photo Album My Photos
Motivated to fix reclaimed wood table. Please help!

Complete woodworking novice here. Iíve always wanted to get into vintage furniture restoration, but just havenít had much of a chance.

I just gained possession of a beautiful dining table made of reclaimed wood. It was built 3-4 years ago by an apparent reputable company. It is cupped particularly on one side (center of the table dips below one side) I contacted the builder to see what theyíd recommend to fix it and they sent me a new support system (they apparently donít use the same thing for these tables anymore) and hardware to connect beneath the table top and said it may straighten out over time. Iím inexperienced, but it seems doubtful to me that this would work on its own.

The top of the tabletop is finished, but the underside is not. Could this be the culprit? The table was originally built in the Midwest and then wound up in the extra hot and humid southeast.

My general plan is to put the tabletop out in the sun for a couple hours in the grass cupped tabletop side down. Watch it very closely until it is as flat as possible. Immediately bring it in and put weight down on it while it cools to hold it flat. Leave the weight there until Iím ready to seal the underside of the table. Remove weight, seal the bottom of the table and lean it up to make sure there is airflow while it dries.

One big question I have is whether I have to strip the finish off the top before putting it out in the sun. I donít mind stripping it, and finishing the top and bottom the same, Iím just concerned I wonít be able to replicate the finishóas Iíve said Iím pretty inexperienced.