Maple Dresser Finishing Help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 07-24-2012, 07:51 PM Thread Starter

View olifer's Photo Album My Photos
Maple Dresser Finishing Help

I am a newbie at woodworking and one of my first projects is to refinish a solid maple dresser that I have. It had been previously painted and I now have it nicely sanded with 150 grit paper to a smooth bare finish.

Since I spent a lot of time removing paint and sanding it to get it to the point it is at, I really want to put a nice durable finish on it that looks and feels great.

I'm debating on whether to stain/dye it, or leave it natural. I've read some of the horror stories about stains that have gone bad on maple.

I am really looking for any and all suggestions on methods used to obtain the best possible finish.

Thanks in advance,
Olifer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-24-2012, 08:53 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

I like the natural look.

post #3 of 8 Old 07-24-2012, 10:08 PM
Senior Sawdust Producer

View Leo G's Photo Album My Photos
If you do stain it, stain it lighter. Also use a conditioner or a wash coat. Never used it myself but I hear jell stains are helpful in controlling blotching.

Measure Twice Cut Once -- It's a lot easier to cut more off then it is to cut MORON.
Finishing is 3 parts chemistry and 1 part VooDoo http://lrgwood.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 07-25-2012, 12:28 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos