Mango wood dining set - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By dswads34

post #1 of 14 Old 04-24-2018, 11:55 AM Thread Starter

View dswads34's Photo Album My Photos
Mango wood dining set

Hi all! I'm new to woodworking/refinishing and was hoping to learn from the collective about selecting an appropriate finish. I purchased a mango wood dining set and want to change the color to something darker. The table/chairs/bench were previously treated with a lacquer coat that was topped with bowling wax. I plan to strip the current finish and was hoping to use either a darker lacquer or stain (if the wood will hold it) so that I can still see the grain through the finish, thus I'm not sure that removing the wax and topping the lacquer with a darker media would be ideal... being that they are going to see frequent use, something durable and water/stain resistant is a must.

Could any of you help to guide me in the right direction? I'm not averse to getting a sprayer if it can run on my home compressor, but I'm not sure how user friendly the various methods are for somebody new to the hobby/profession.

Thanks in advance!

~David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-24-2018, 10:42 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
To prevent getting wax in the wood I would clean the furniture with a wax and grease remover before stripping it.

A lacquer finish would be fine for a dining room set. It's not completely waterproof so you need to take a little care to keep it dry. Occasionally leaving a sweaty glass on the finish won't hurt it but repeatedly setting one in the same spot will lift the finish.