How to retain the look and feel of my table. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-23-2010, 08:30 AM Thread Starter

View Lewton's Photo Album My Photos
Smile How to retain the look and feel of my table.

Hi!

I'm new to your excellent forums and I'm in need of some advice please. Apologies if I sound pretty naive in my question, but thankyou for any help you can give me.

I recently bought, in a charity shop, a nice looking old fashioned dining table that needed sanding down and some degree of repair. I saw it and thought it had great potential. I think it's oak.

I've sanded it down and I really like the natural bare wood look of it and also the roughish bare wood (almost farmhouse -ey), feel as well.

What I need advice on is how treat the table (oil, varnish, etc., I just don't know), to retain these attractive qualities - the natural look and colour, and the farmhouse -ey roughish feel of the table. I don't want to change it's colour and I don't want it to look like it's been treated with anything other than to bring out/enhance the richness of its already attractive look. But I do want to protect it from susceptibility to marks from cups, spills, etc..

Can you give me any tips please?

Thankyou very much.

Lewton.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-23-2010, 09:40 AM

View Julian the woodnut's Photo Album My Photos
Since you are unexperienced, I would suggest a wiping varnish or polyurethane. Just buy a regular can of poly or varnish from the big box store and mix it with equal parts of mineral spirits and boiled linseed oil. All you need to do is wipe on then wipe off, let dry and repeat about 4-5 times. This type of finish will give you the protection needed without worrying about brush strokes showing.
post #3 of 11 Old 01-23-2010, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

Smile

Thankyou Julian. I'll take your advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 01-23-2010, 02:48 PM

View daryl's Photo Album My Photos