How to get this clear glaze finish - Help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By J L

post #1 of 6 Old 02-06-2017, 04:29 PM Thread Starter

View MAX SITTI's Photo Album My Photos
How to get this clear glaze finish - Help

Hello there,
I'm new to wood working. I'm now working on my wood projects making handles and knobs. I was so wondering how to get a thick clear glaze finish like the sample shown in the attached pictures.
I bought different products from Local hardware stores ( lacquer , polyethylene spray can) and put many many coats on the it. The result is not even close to what I need. The clear coat I sprayed on the wood can't even fill the grains completely. So I came to the conclusion that there will be the other way.
last weekend I bought a 2 parts epoxy from Micheal, I followed the instruction and applied the epoxy on my project. The problem was the epoxy is not stick to the wood evenly. it ran and drip too much. Also it took a very long time until it dry.
My friend told me that I need a better, more expensive epoxy product. I doubted about it.
I watched tutorial videos on you tube, most of the videos show how to clear coat on counter top by using bar top epoxy . That is easy, just pour the epoxy on the leveled surface. But for the project like knife handle, knobs. It would be the other way. If anyone know the process of apply epoxy on wood, please help.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-06-2017, 04:50 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Lacquer or polyurethane would be prone to crack if applied that thick. It would be better to use a pour on epoxy. When finishing a turning I like to finish it on the lathe and sand it between coats while turning.
post #3 of 6 Old 02-06-2017, 06:30 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos