help! carved lettering staining? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Tony B

post #1 of 5 Old 01-29-2011, 06:36 PM Thread Starter

View EJTibbetts's Photo Album My Photos
help! carved lettering staining?

Hello all!

I am brand new to the world of woodwork, its something I have wanted to get into for years. Here I am 25 and recently married and my wife and I bought a dremel a week or so ago and I decided to do small crafty things since we live in a tiny apartment right now. So not a whole lot of room for anything more than a dremel.

On to my question. I carved a sign for my parents. Other than a little standing, I'm pretty happy with my first project. My question (or I am open to suggestions), how can I make the lettering "pop" more? I was thinking maybe make the letters black or dark brown with a light stain on the rest. Keep in mind I do not know anything about these processes, when you respond.

Thanks in advance and I am looking forward to this new found hobby that will hopefully grow into furnishing my home one day!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-29-2011, 07:45 PM
Scotty D

View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum.

Try this,

Stain your letters dark, it will bleed on the surface, sand down till dark is gone.

You can then color your surface lighter or not, without affecting the dark.

Some brush poly, will make it pop!

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
post #3 of 5 Old 01-29-2011, 09:14 PM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos