hELLO!! need some help!! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 01-17-2010, 07:32 PM Thread Starter

View juanation's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via MSN to juanation
hELLO!! need some help!!

hey guys how you doing. This will be my first post in the forum. I'm relatively new in woodworking. I need some help on ow to finish a table im working on. My mother has a beautiful Mexican table which is what i want on mine. Its kind of a weather deterioration. ive tried muriatic acid and a metallic bristle brush but with no success. Tried again with the same brush but with hot water, and nothing. The wood im using is white pine. im beginning to think this is impossible please help me!

the pic i uploaded are form my mothers table!! cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	17012010195.jpg
Views:	396
Size:	119.2 KB
ID:	12957  

Click image for larger version

Name:	17012010193.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	12958  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-18-2010, 01:08 AM

View Tony B's Photo Album My Photos
For weather deterioration, I use a sandblaster. Just a small unit. It will eat the soft wood rings like there is no tomorrow, and leave the harder rings standing proud. Only takes a few minutes.
If you have to buy a small sandblaster, get the pressure pot type. The syphon feed type is just a joke. These small sand pots can be had for under $100 at Harbor Freight, problem is that you will need an air compressor with about 8-10 CFM at 90 PSI.

Tony B

Retired woodworker, amongst other things, Sold full time cruising boat and now full time cruising in RV. Currently in Somerville, Tx
post #3 of 8 Old 01-18-2010, 11:06 AM Thread Starter

View juanation's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via MSN to juanation
mmmm good idea!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony B View Post