Guitar Body Question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 08-25-2017, 03:01 AM Thread Starter

View Wineshop's Photo Album My Photos
Guitar Body Question

Hi. This is a guitar question, but more about the wood, so I'm hoping this is a good site to look for advice. I've been playing guitar for 35 years and I'm just now building my first guitar. I've modded a few, but this one is from the ground up. I was hoping to get some advice about finishing the body. I did post this on a guitar site, and was given great advice. But I though perhaps someone here could be more specific. Here is my guitar body. It's a really pretty cut of alder. The other pictures are from a Washburn guitar - and that's the finish I want. Notice it looks a little used, dirty and distressed in some spots. Keep in mind the Washburn in a new production guitar, also alder. (Ignore the N4 stickers). If you had this piece of wood and wanted that same look - how would you do it? Right now (I have a small test piece of wood) I'm going to use a stain from Home depot, mix with 3 parts thinner. Then paint a few coats of matte polyurethane over it. I think that will get a nice look, but I'm not sure it'll be what I'm looking for. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mine.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	311185  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 08-25-2017, 09:20 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos