First Project- How would I stain wood like this? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 08-10-2015, 02:41 PM Thread Starter

View HarryS's Photo Album My Photos
First Project- How would I stain wood like this?

Hello! This is my first forum post, very excited to get into woodworking. This is my first project and I'm building a desk, I went to Home Depot yesterday and told them what I was looking for and since this desk is going to be a sewing workstation/laptop area I decided to make the desk 6 ft. wide and 3 feet deep using three 1ft. wide planks that they'll cut for me for the top of the desk.

This picture is where I got my inspiration for the desk and primarily exactly what I'm going for. How would I get my wood to look like this? I imagine he stained it but it has several different tones/colors it seems. Any ideas on how I would stain my wood to look like this? It looks amazing! How would I stain my wood this way is the main question, even wood recommendation. Do you think I'm on the right track wth my idea as far as building it as well? Thank you guys so much, I'm so excited to get this going!! (I'm also going to put glass on top of my desk when it's done like he has).
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-10-2015, 03:25 PM

View RandyReed's Photo Album My Photos
I think its Oak. You would stain the wood to whatever color you would want.

In this case, for the topcoat I think he used liquid glass. Its a bar top coating. You can find a video of it on youtube.
post #3 of 10 Old 08-10-2015, 03:45 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyReed View Post
I think its Oak. You would stain the wood to whatever color you would want.

In this case, for the topcoat I think he used liquid glass. Its a bar top coating. You can find a video of it on youtube.