Finishing railing - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 09-15-2016, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
Shamus

View Hawkdriver's Photo Album My Photos
Finishing railing

Hello all

Looking for some basic info. I'm far from an expert on finishing thus why I'm here. Recently moved into home so I cannot speak to history of this railing as far as finish goes. It appeared to be stained at some point but does not look to have much of a finish. So here's my question in looking at the pictures what do you feel the best method to finishing it is. I'm just looking to bring back a minor luster nothing glossy more along the lines of providing some rejuvenation as it appears to be dried. I was originally thinking oil but after research a lot is leading to a varnish. I'm not looking for a hard coat gloss what are your suggestions and recommendations as far as manufacturers. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1053_1473960232685.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	254090  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-15-2016, 03:01 PM
Advanced Color Matcher

View ColorStylist's Photo Album My Photos
2-3 coats of poly will give you the best protection. Varnish also does a nice job, but it just doesn't dry as hard as poly. Poly/varnish comes in 3 basic sheens, satin, semi-gloss and gloss.

Matching colors on different substrates is easy. All it takes is patience and beer.
post #3 of 7 Old 09-15-2016, 04:25 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Before you start finishing I would assume someone has put furniture polish on the railing. It certainly has skin oils on it. If it were me I would wash the railing with a wax and grease remover before putting any finish on it.

Personally I think what is there is kinda blotchy. I know how much work it is but I believe I would refinish the railing and sand the wood.