finishing a new doug fir floor--need recommendations! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 09-18-2012, 02:46 PM Thread Starter

View aliceo's Photo Album My Photos
Question finishing a new doug fir floor--need recommendations!

Hello to the Forum,
This is my first post. I'm a writer buiding a small studio in my back yard and am almost finished!! But, I'm held up trying to figure out how to finish the floor in the 120 square foot space. I've searched this site without finding the answers to my questions.

The building is timber frame and I'm leaving all the pine tongue-and-groove paneling and the rough-sawn fir timbers unfinished. I've painted the door and the window trim (pine) a soft green, like a seafoam color. I'm also putting in marbled-seafoam colored ceramic tile in the entrance to the cabin. The look is pretty rustic.

I've installed 6" wide Doug fir solid wood plank t&g floors--brand new wood, but this is "cabin grade" (cheap)--lots of knots and imperfections, but that is okay, I'm going for a barn or cabin look.

I want to stain the floor a green that works well with the tile and the woodwork. I thought I was all set with a tung oil stain custom mixed for me by the local sherwin williams, but unfortunately it is too transparent and the red of the doug fir shows through, and it clashes horribly with the green. (it is the right color--the manager mixed the pigment to account for the color of the wood.)

I'm told you can't make a tung oil stain more opaque, and so I'm left wondering how to get the effect and the finish I want and am starting over with my research. I'm not getting very far except to learn that Doug fir is notoriously difficult to stain.

Here's what I'm trying to achieve--a green-colored stain that hides the color of the wood itself, but shows the grain. I'd prefer to just do this in one step, but I'd be willing to put a finish on in one step.