Finishing an aquarium stand - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-28-2020, 07:25 PM Thread Starter

View Nathan Hoaglund's Photo Album My Photos
Finishing an aquarium stand

I'm a woodworking newbie and I am building a saltwater aquarium stand with the base made of 1 x 4s and covered in Birch plywood from Home Depot (I think it's sanded already). I'm also going to put cabinet molding on the corners. I'm wanting to put a semi glossy white finish on it and it needs to be water resistant. I've looked online and there are so many sources and they're all different so I'm a little confused...I don't mind doing a lot of steps I just want it to look nice. Would someone be able to outline the steps I would need to take? I would prefer to use spray cans if that's possible but I also have a cheap paint sprayer from Harbor Freight but not sure it will even work (listed below). Thanks in advance! Image below (still have some work to do - all sides will be birch plywood)

https://www.harborfreight.com/5-gph-...gun-63452.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	unnamed-6.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	367.1 KB
ID:	396123  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-28-2020, 07:41 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Since you have wood that is easily damaged by water you need to caulk it very good and prime it with an exterior primer and then topcoat with an exterior oil based enamel. If you get it wet pretty often a better finish would be a pigmented epoxy paint like what is used on boats.
post #3 of 8 Old 09-28-2020, 08:38 PM Thread Starter