finish that won't bind over time - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-27-2008, 06:53 AM Thread Starter

View danmc91's Photo Album My Photos
finish that won't bind over time

I couldn't decide if this was best asked on wood working or construction forum...

I have an access panel in my master bath for accessing the breaker and pump for a whirlpool tub. The original builder just screwed a painted piece of plywood over the opening in the drywall and it looked awful. I'm finishing remodeling that room and what I did was to frame the hole in the drywall, embed magnets in the frame, build a door that consists of a door frame of 1x2's with magnets embedded in it that slides into the framed opening. Then there is a piece of fiberboard glued onto the door frame to make the actual door. It has more magnets glued on the backside. The idea is one should really never need to open this panel so I didn't want a handle. It is held in place magnetically and to open it, you just use a large magnet to grab the front of the panel and pull it out.

Now for my real question. I'm concerned that if I paint both the framing around the opening in the wall and the small panel door that over time the paint in contact with paint will stick and the panel will never open. Yet this is in a bathroom so I hate to not paint or otherwise finish any wood due to the humidity. Is there a good finish I can use for the two surfaces which will be in contact with each other where I won't end up with them stuck to each other after a year?

I attached pictures of the access panel with cover in place as well as the framed opening and the panel alone. Hopefully those will make it more clear what I'm describing.

Many thanks in advance.
-Dan (who hopes to have time for woodworking again once this !#@$ remodeling project is over)
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-27-2008, 08:46 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos