Final Wet Sand on Polyurethane Finish - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 08-21-2013, 10:02 PM Thread Starter

View wilbrijo06's Photo Album My Photos
Final Wet Sand on Polyurethane Finish

Please help:

I am a beginner woodworker. I'm re-finishing a table, and am working the final sanding of my polyurethane layer. I've never finished anything before, so I of course gave myself the Google U. educational course. I have 5 layers of Minwax Wipe-on oil based poly (satin finish) on the table, having sanded with 220 lightly (in the direction of the grain) between each application.

After the last coat, I let the table dry for 2 days, and went out this evening to try the final sanding/finish. I thought I'd try a wet sanding technique. Googled that too and followed what I saw/read about how to do it. I started with a 320 waterproof sand pad. Lubricated with olive oil (I didn't have mineral oil). At first I thought it looked real nice, but when I wiped all the oil off, I noticed the scuff marks were very visible when not looking at the table straight on (see pic below)

Unlike every other sanding, I used a circular motion this time. My question is, "how do I fix this?" Things I'm wondering:
  • Is this normal for 320 grit?
  • Will the scuff marks dissapear as I transition to a higher grit paper?
  • Should I be using a circular motion?
  • Mostly… did I just ruin my finish?
Any help/advice from you experienced artisans would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-21-2013, 11:47 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos