Drying a Tung Oil Finish - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 03-19-2011, 11:23 AM Thread Starter

View barkinmarmot's Photo Album My Photos
Drying a Tung Oil Finish

I'm in the process of finishing a coffee table with tung oil and seem to have an issue. First off - the details. I'm not a pro, just a hobbyist. Using 100% pure tung oil. The first coat I cut to 50/50 with mineral spirits and the wood soaked it right up (the table is made from reclaimed Saal wood). Second coat was applied 4 days later un-thinned. The excess was rubbed off after 15 minutes. After 2 more days it felt relatively dry to the touch so I light sanded with #0000 steel wool and applied the third un-thinned coat. Excess wiped off after 15 minutes. Well now it's 8 days later and the surface does not feel as dry to the touch. If I hold my hand on it for 5 seconds, the warmth seems to pull some oil up out of the wood to where I can see it as a shinier hand print on the surface. I'm guessing maybe the wood has already reached it's saturation point. I was prepared to do many more coats. My plan is to topcoat the table with some poly for extra scratch/gouge protection but my gut tells me not to do that yet with uncured tung oil on there. How do I take care of this? Apply more mineral spirits? Set the top out in the sun (not practical for me really)? Set up a fan and run air over it for weeks? Go ahead and do the poly?? Any advice on how to deal with this would be great!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-19-2011, 11:54 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Drying time for Tung oil can vary depending on your location, RH, temperature. It takes a while for that stuff to cure. There is no rush fix. You have to let applications dry...it could take several weeks or longer.