Does type of wood matter? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 25 Old 10-29-2014, 09:58 PM Thread Starter

View yepitswood's Photo Album My Photos
Does type of wood matter?

I really like this type of wood and its finish:
Dresser:

Dining room table:

Questions:
1. Can any old wood furniture (such as oak) be stained to achieve this desired effect? Or is there a special type of wood being used in these pictures?
2. Which type of wood do you reckon this is? Oak? Mesquite? I’m totally lost.
3. Which color would you say it is?
Thanks, a bunch. I’m new to woodworking and I’m starting with small projects.

Last edited by yepitswood; 10-29-2014 at 10:10 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 10-29-2014, 10:20 PM

View Quickstep's Photo Album My Photos
That wood looks like mahogany or walnut to me. While it's possible to stain oak a mahogany color, it still won't look exactly like mahogany because oak has a different texture than mahogany.
post #3 of 25 Old 10-29-2014, 10:56 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The pictures are a bit blurry but the wood looks like honduras mahogany to me. The skirt on the table appears to be the natural color of the wood where the top appears to be stained. Anyway you would have a very hard time making oak look like that. You would have to select some very straight grain wood and then use a grain filler to eliminate the texture of the wood when you finish it. It still wouldn't look the same but you could get close. It would be much easier to use luan. It's a type of mahogany anyway, in fact it is also known as Philippine mahogany. Both Philippine and Honduras mahogany is also usually grain filled. If you live near a large city Honduras mahogany isn't that hard to find or forbiddingly expensive to buy. The wood is probably about 40% more expensive than oak.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 25 Old 10-30-2014, 04:04 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickstep View Post