Dealing with wood warp in a finished project - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 10 Old 03-13-2019, 06:20 PM Thread Starter

View 0331reaperguns's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Dealing with wood warp in a finished project

Hello all!

Newbie here. Just got my shop put together/finished last year but have been working for a little over two years. Still very amateur.

I made this pipe box for my brother in law last summer and really felt great about how it turned out. It is made from red oak and was finished with an oil based stain. There are plenty of goofs and things I would do differently, but for my first pass I was proud to give it to him as a birthday gift. Note that everything was very square and seemed to work beautifully.
https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/atta...372967&thumb=1
https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/atta...372965&thumb=1

I visited in December to find that the top and bottom of the box had bowed inward and caused the box to be unusable. I was embarrassed and felt horrible, vowing to immediately find a way to fix it or build him a new one. This is obviously the result of extreme environment changes. I do my best to keep my shop climate controlled, but I'm in Missouri and my shop isn't exactly state of the art. The humidity swings are significant from winter to summer.

https://www.woodworkingtalk.com/atta...372971&thumb=1

Can anyone please provide feedback/input on how I might be able to correct this piece? As the humidity has started to pick up in the month of March, it has already started to correct, so I suspect if I let it rehydrate a bit, I might be able to seal it and keep this from happening again. Is this a reasonable approach? Are there sealants that will prevent this from happening? He wants me to try to fix this one as much as possible, as he said it has sentimental value and he is proud to have one of my first pieces.