CVG Douglas Fir darker yet natural finish - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 07-03-2014, 04:37 PM Thread Starter

View jsouth's Photo Album My Photos
CVG Douglas Fir darker yet natural finish

Hi, I'm a newbie who is finishing a CVG Douglas Fir table I just built.

I'm not a huge fan of Doug Fir's natural colour - it can be a bit too orange. I would like it to be a bit darker than natural, natural-looking, NOT orange, and with a matte, durable finish.

Any suggestions on how to achieve the effect I want? I'm thinking:

1. wood conditioner
2. brown stain diluted with turpentine rubbed on with cloth
3. oil based Varathane clear satin finish

Don't really know what I'm doing - would appreciate some advice!
Also, do I sand between Varathane coats?

—jsouth
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-03-2014, 05:15 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
You can just counteract the orange with dyes. The orange is due to red in the wood and you can counteract red with a green dye. Be careful using green dyes though, it only takes a very tiny amount and multiple coats would be better than too much. This should make the wood a light tan color but if you want to use a stain too that would be fine but a conditioner should be used with an oil stain.

Any type finish that puts a coating on you sand it between coats with 220 grit or finer sandpaper.

I use Mohawk Finishing Products Ultra Penetrating Stain for the dye I use and the green I stock is M520-4136. It is thinned with alcohol and sprayed on at low pressure.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
jsouth (07-04-2014)
post #3 of 6 Old 07-04-2014, 03:04 PM Thread Starter

View jsouth's Photo Album My Photos
Thank you Steve - I don't have access to a pressure sprayer so that might not be the best option for me. I'll look into it more.