Coffee Table Advice? water-white, satin finish - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 08-14-2013, 02:14 PM Thread Starter

View cowpie's Photo Album My Photos
Coffee Table Advice? water-white, satin finish

I am a novice furniture maker and have built a steel foundation for a cypress driftwood slab. The top is a 3" live edge piece that I have bleached and fine-sanded. It will be an indoor coffee table so needs some durability and resistance to water.

I've received several suggestions on finish options ranging from conversion varnish to pre-catalyzed lacquer. I'm hoping I can list some desired qualities here and get some expert opinions:

1. clear matte/satin finish - not high gloss
2. hard/durable since a working surface
3. won't yellow over time (water white?)
4. can be applied with a brush (preferably because I don't have a professional sprayer)

Thanks for any ideas you may have. I've also uploaded pictures in it's current form.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.jpg
Views:	468
Size:	98.9 KB
ID:	77281  

Name:	photo 2.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	77282  

Name:	photo 3.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	77283  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 08-14-2013, 02:21 PM

View Fred Hargis's Photo Album My Photos