Buckey Burl Finishing - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 06-24-2014, 03:36 PM Thread Starter

View devindjo's Photo Album My Photos
Question Buckey Burl Finishing

Hey Guys!

So I am deciding to take on a project and make a slab wood table out of a nice piece of Buckeye Burl. The slab is unfinished and I am having trouble figuring out the best way to go about this. Any help is appreciated and because I am new to all this could you please spell out all steps clearly, thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 06-24-2014, 03:45 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
You will probably want a finish that is non-yellowing. Many oil based finishes will yellow as they age. I would probably finish it with a pre-catalyzed lacquer finish. This is something that needs to be sprayed though. If you don't have the means of spraying the finish you could use a water based wipe on polyurethane.
post #3 of 6 Old 06-24-2014, 03:58 PM Thread Starter

I found somewhere that suggested I use a coat of lacquer sealant and then 4 coats of gloss lacquer with a final coat of semi-gloss. What are your thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 06-24-2014, 08:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by devindjo View Post
I found somewhere that suggested I use a coat of lacquer sealant and then 4 coats of gloss lacquer with a final coat of semi-gloss. What are your thoughts?
It depends on the lacquer. Most of it on store shelves is a type called nitrocellulose. It is made from cotton fibers and is prone to yellow like varnish. The pre-catalyzed lacquer is made from acrylic resins and will remain clear. With a pre-catalyzed lacquer you use a vinyl sealer instead of lacquer sanding sealer.
post #5 of 6 Old 06-25-2014, 09:10 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul View Post