BLO and Pine? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 05-15-2013, 01:39 PM Thread Starter

View Sorrowful Jones's Photo Album My Photos
BLO and Pine?

I am making several pistol cases out of pine. Nothing fancy, no staining involved, but I do like the slight amber tint that BLO gives.
I am wondering about using 50/50 mix of BLO and denatured alcohol followed by shellac or poly, but I have never used BLO on pine before. Any suggestions or thoughts? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-15-2013, 02:22 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
You could mix BLO, DA and Shellac and make yourself some "O.B. Shine Juice".

http://eddiecastelin.com/yahoo_site_...e.54184110.pdf
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave Paine For This Useful Post:
Sorrowful Jones (05-15-2013)
post #3 of 8 Old 05-15-2013, 04:38 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If you are going to thin linseed oil 50%, I would thin it with mineral spirits or napatha rather than alcohol. I think alcohol is a bit hot for linseed oil. I think the shellac alone would do the trick making the grain pop however if you are going to put poly over it be sure to use dewaxed shellac as standard shellac is incompatable with polyurethane.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 05-15-2013, 06:37 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Neul View Post
If you are going to thin linseed oil 50%, I would thin it with mineral spirits or napatha rather than alcohol. I think alcohol is a bit hot for linseed oil. I think the shellac alone would do the trick making the grain pop however if you are going to put poly over it be sure to use dewaxed shellac as standard shellac is incompatable with polyurethane.

Thanks Dave and Steve for the inputs.

Steve, I have a couple of questions...
1. What do you mean by DA being "hot"?
2. You think I could just use shellac alone and nothing else? I have no problem with that, just that I have never done it.