Best way to handle sap before finishing - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 2 Old 04-03-2017, 09:48 AM Thread Starter

View adotd3's Photo Album My Photos
Best way to handle sap before finishing

So I'm still a beginner in my wood working journey, and have used mostly pine boards from the hardware store or old pallet wood for all my projects, until now. I wanted to make a sleek, modern computer desk for my husband, and was ready for some more interesting piece of wood. The plan is for a natural piece of wood with copper piping for legs. I found a local man selling Larchwood. I picked a piece that I really liked the color/characteristics (it's mostly heartwood, quite possible the very central piece of the tree, as it was the widest board he had...and he had basically the whole tree for sale). I noted some sap (or pitch, I'm not sure what the difference is), but assumed I could just wipe it off and the rest would come off in a final sanding. Well! Now that I've done my homework about using softwoods, I'm a little worried. i should note both these spots still weep when I give them a firm press. The other side of the board (first pic) has some minor splits running the length of the board with dried sap inside, right down the middle, just like the cuts pictured (pics 2-4).