Best way to finish douglas fir for outdoor bench? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 08-05-2013, 04:18 PM Thread Starter

View Daddy's Daddy's Photo Album My Photos
Best way to finish douglas fir for outdoor bench?

I'm a newbie to these matters, and I spent this weekend throwing together the outdoor "bench" pictured below—basically just a 2 x 12 x 8 plank of douglas fir and a bunch of 3/4" pipe fittings for the legs.

My question is: How should I treat and/or finish and/or stain the wood?

I'm pretty much a complete novice when it comes to wood matters, so my only idea is to just give it a coat of Minwax or something, but I thought maybe I could ask you experts. Is it just as simple as that? Or am I missing something?

I would love to bring out some natural tones and make it look nice as well as let it be durable in the outside sun and occasional showers. Plan to keep it outside all year long. I don't mind if, over time, it gets some natural wear and patina (or whatever the official word is).

Any advice or steps to treat/finish would be really appreciated! Thanks so much!!! (And please keep in mind that i'm a beginner.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0625.jpg
Views:	1436
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	76685  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-05-2013, 04:26 PM

View Webster's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome!

Well those are Cool!
I like that idea.

Just some boiled linseed oil is the way I would go. Lathering it on the fir until it doesn't soak up any more. Then wipe of the excess.

Rick

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."
Albert Einstein
post #3 of 7 Old 08-05-2013, 04:58 PM Thread Starter