Beginner Question: Filling cracks on large Elm round - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 21 Old 02-23-2011, 07:56 PM Thread Starter

View Road Explorer's Photo Album My Photos
Question Beginner Question: Filling cracks on large Elm round

I'm relatively new to woodworking and will be making an outdoor sign from a large elm slab. The slab is roughly 3' x 4' x 3" thick and is fairly dry.

My question is, how do I best fill the cracks and ensure they or the filler don't separate during the changing weather throughout the year in the Seattle area? Should I consider incorporating a bowtie insert of some sort to prevent separation?

Also, I don't mind leaving the cracks in as they'll add character, but I want to make sure that their existence won't doom the piece out of the gate either. Therefore, what would the best finish be for this assuming there will be painted elements underneath?

Attached is a picture of the cracks, which emanate from the center of the slab.

I'm new and have taken on a pretty ambitious project, so please feel free to give any guidance you'd like - even if it's along the lines of telling me I'm crazy.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 02-23-2011, 08:03 PM
In History is the Future

View firemedic's Photo Album My Photos
The slab your reffering to... Is it an cross/end cut? ie... Cut the end off a stump?
post #3 of 21 Old 02-23-2011, 08:06 PM Thread Starter

Thats correct. The slab is a crosscut section of a reclaimed elm tree.

Edit:
This is a picture of one of the slabs cut from this tree and looks almost identical to mine.

Attached Images

Last edited by Road Explorer; 02-23-2011 at 08:14 PM. Reason: Uploaded picture.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 Old 02-23-2011, 08:28 PM
Scotty D

View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road Explorer View Post
Thats correct. The slab is a crosscut section of a reclaimed elm tree.

That is refered to as a "cookie" not a slab.