switch wiring - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 04-14-2010, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
View orcaburger44's Photo Album My Photos
switch wiring

I have recieved 2 safety paddle switches from Grizzly and cannot make either work. I assume I'm am not wiring them correctly. There are 4 posts; 2 labled IN, 2 OUT. Anybody know the secret? Thanks Jim
orcaburger44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-14-2010, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44
View Bob Wingard's Photo Album My Photos
Need a little more info .. .. ..

110 or 220 ?? ??


How are you hooking up wires ?? ??

If 110, you only have to break the black with a switch, but breaking neutral does no harm.

If 220, you need to break both hot leads with the switch.

"IN" should be one or both leads FROM the LINE

"OUT" should be one or both leads TO THE MOTOR
Bob Wingard is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-14-2010, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 1,239
View del schisler's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by orcaburger44 View Post
I have recieved 2 safety paddle switches from Grizzly and cannot make either work. I assume I'm am not wiring them correctly. There are 4 posts; 2 labled IN, 2 OUT. Anybody know the secret? Thanks Jim
take the hot wire and cut it strip ends put 1 on the post labled in and the other cut end to the labled in Now wire the motor with the hot wire the same only on out side In other words you have 1 wire that is not cut going in and on motor the same 1 solid So what you are doing is just putting a switch in the line so the motor is switched I dont have a corl draw or i would draw a schematic
del schisler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 04-14-2010, 03:31 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,350
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Which one of these?

Some are double pole for 220 v, breaks both "hot" wires, which sounds like yours, but without a model no we can't tell. bill
http://www.grizzly.com/catalog/2010/Main/243

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-14-2010, 06:57 PM
Old Methane Gas Cloud
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 3,500
View rrich's Photo Album My Photos
Single pole or double pole shouldn't make a difference, E X C E P T .

If the switch is a "Magnetic" one, the wiring may be an issue. If the 220v switch is wired as a single pole, there may not be enough current to activate the magnetic coil and this may be causing you a problem.

Assuming that the switches are not of the magnetic variety, just wire the line 1 through the switch to load 1 and you could put the neutral through the line 2 to load 2.

Use the right tool for the job.

Rich (Tilting right)
Huntington Beach, California
Remember that when we have the "BIG ONE" everything east of the Rockies falls into the ocean.
rrich is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-15-2010, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
View orcaburger44's Photo Album My Photos
sound that simple

Thanks to all for your replies. I figured it was just that simple but after the first switch woiuld not stay on I called tech. support at Griz and they thought it was a bad unit. Sent me another and it acts the same way. This is the 110v model. They will turn power on but the magnetic switch will not remain on? Guess I'll throw them both away and buy a $2 switch at home depot. Jim
orcaburger44 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-15-2010, 08:37 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,350
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
The model H8240?

Is a 110 V magnetic switch. Why did you want that particular switch since the others on the link I gave would also work well? A mag switch will not restore power to the machine unless manually rest during a power failure. This is not a likely occurance in a home shop. A tripped breaker will kill the machine and you should always turn the machine off at the source before resetting it. You will not find a double pole switch for $2.00 in my opinion and it must be of the correct amperage rating or you'll waste your $2.00..... bill

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-15-2010, 11:32 PM
Old Methane Gas Cloud
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 3,500
View rrich's Photo Album My Photos
Bill is correct about the amperage rating. The magic words at the BORG are "I need a garbage disposal switch."

BTW - I went to my local ACE Hardware and got a 2 pole switch to replace the one on my dust collector. When I converted to 220 v, the screws in the original Jet supplied switch seemed to be welded into the switch. I just replaced the switch with the one from the hardware store and wired appropriately for 220 v. That and a Long Ranger makes using my DC a dream come true.

Use the right tool for the job.

Rich (Tilting right)
Huntington Beach, California
Remember that when we have the "BIG ONE" everything east of the Rockies falls into the ocean.
rrich is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a dust collector Captflx Power Tools & Machinery 7 12-11-2009 11:46 AM
Wiring a bandsaw switch... frankp Power Tools & Machinery 20 08-31-2009 02:53 PM
I'm having a problem wiring a switch Sawduster General Woodworking Discussion 6 01-10-2009 12:14 PM
Jointer wiring question BradleyB Power Tools & Machinery 50 12-31-2007 07:31 AM
craftsman 6 1/8 jointer wiring BradleyB General Woodworking Discussion 7 12-13-2007 07:03 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome