push sticks - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 06-09-2013, 06:45 PM Thread Starter

View gpeck's Photo Album My Photos
push sticks

Should push sticks be used if you have a blade cover on your table saw? It does not seem to me that they would be necessary (but I am new to this).
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-09-2013, 07:20 PM

View mengtian's Photo Album My Photos
Yes. I use a push stick unless I am at least 4 inches from the blade.
post #3 of 11 Old 06-09-2013, 07:25 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
hmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by mengtian View Post
Do you mean the fence is 4" from the blade? I use one when the wood is 2" from the blade or less and then I like to use a push shoe rather than a stick. However, I saw through some of my push sticks when the work is very narrow. They are easily repaired on the end when they no longer grab the edge properly. I use a bandsaw to recreate the notch.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 06-09-2013 at 09:52 PM. Reason: spelling error/typo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 06-09-2013, 08:05 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings
hmmm
What key is that hymn in? Is it a sing along?

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodnthings View Post
However, I saw through some of my push ticks when the work is very arrow.
What are push ticks? And what kind of arrows? Real feathers?

Anyway, for the OP, I use push sticks, push shoes, blocks, whatever is needed if the cut looks like it could be hazardous, or if the aid would benefit the type of cut, even with the guard on. I'm not proud.

post #5 of 11 Old 06-09-2013, 08:38 PM

View SeniorSitizen's Photo Album My Photos