you think this will work? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 05-06-2009, 05:19 PM Thread Starter

View kingcotrader's Photo Album My Photos
you think this will work?

so you guys have been great, so im going to ask your opinions on my homebrew sharpening jig i constructed today. i have never had to sharpen chisels in my life (even though i do remodel for a living). this little setup seems like it is effective, although my def of sharp and others may be different.
essentially i threw a new medium grit norton wheel on my grinder and then built this structure out of hickory. the ramp pivots on a purple heart dowel i made on the LATHE and is quite snug on its own. to determine the angle i set a chisel on the ramp with a bright light shining between the stone and the chisel to determine the best angle and then lock the ramp down with an additional clamp. i routed the back and the end of the ramp to enable the stone to be very close to the ramp.. then- fire it up- spray the wheel with some grease or oil and lighty grind the edge. (with water handy)
seems ok so far but i am wondering a few things..

a. is this totally retarded? no really- be honest
b. should i be using a finer wheel
c. how can i fine tune the edge after this
d. pointers?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00035.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	119.4 KB
ID:	8886  

Name:	IMG00036.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	8887  

Name:	IMG00037.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	79.9 KB
ID:	8888  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-06-2009, 05:34 PM
Senior Sawdust Sweeper

View Gary Beasley's Photo Album My Photos
Hey, as long as you can get a consistant angle without burning or overheating you are ahead of the game. As for fine tuning maybe one of those small diamond sharpening plates. You might could set up a drip system to put water on the wheel during the cutting to simplify things.
post #3 of 8 Old 05-06-2009, 05:48 PM

View CivilEngineer13's Photo Album My Photos