woodturning photos - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 11-14-2009, 11:05 AM Thread Starter

View jdixon's Photo Album My Photos
woodturning photos

Thought some might be interested in this. I stumbled across this tutorial on taking pictures of your woodturning and it is really good. So if anyone is looking to take better pictures of their turnings here ya go.

http://www.nealaddy.org/node/16

John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 11-14-2009, 06:13 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
Neal has a great site. I've contributed some articles for him to include in his site. I make my living photographing art work. Actually I'm a University Photographer for Tennessee Tech University. We have an art school called the Appalachian Center for craft. I shoot their artwork along with about 30 other artists in and around middle Tennessee so I'm shooting art of some sort just about every day.
post #3 of 6 Old 11-16-2009, 11:22 PM Thread Starter

View jdixon's Photo Album My Photos
John I saw your name on a couple of articles on his site. I thought you might be one and the same.

I really learned alot from the basic tutorial he presented. I would like some ideas on backgrounds. I'm wondering whether to try and make a photo tent, some whiteboard or get some of the gradient paper I see some people use. I sure don't much about picture taking but I am eager to learn some so my turning pics will look a little better. Any recommendations for a basic startup set?

Thanks,
John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 11-17-2009, 09:38 AM

I teach using a translucent light tent. I think you have much more flexibility when your light or lights are outside the booth.