Woodturning for Beginners - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 04-11-2009, 02:15 AM Thread Starter

View Desiprams's Photo Album My Photos
Woodturning for Beginners

Hi, I am a beginner in woodturning, Everytime I do turning I get lots of splinters on the wood, doesnt matter what kind of wood I use.
what am I doing wrong here.
Please help me!!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 04-11-2009, 07:26 AM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
If you are tearing the wood (splinters) instead of cutting it I would say your tools are not sharp enough.
post #3 of 15 Old 04-11-2009, 08:48 AM
Fighting the fight.....

View PTownSubbie's Photo Album My Photos
I have to agree with Daren on this one. When was the last time your tools were sharpened?

Are you getting any catches while you are cutting? IMO it sounds like you may not be cutting with the bevel. Are you getting chatter or noise while cutting?

I am a beginner also. Only 1.5 months experience. I began turning with a class. You should check around for classes or a turning group. Thay may be able to help you considerably.

There are a ton of products on the web that sort of teach turning. Check out the ones below and some on You Tube.

http://www.wonderhowto.com/how-to/vi...urning-228403/

http://www.turningtools.co.uk/pdf_fi...k/pdfbook.html

Good Luck. Stick with it and you will pick up the right techniques.

Fred
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 04-11-2009, 10:58 AM
Just makin chips fly

View The woodsman's Photo Album My Photos
Woodturning for beginners

Gotta go with Fred,but if there is a club near you,that would be great,as maybe you could get with someone who can give you a little hands on training just to get you started,then the more you do the better you will get. Plus it can help you understand what you see on online videos.Good luck.
Ken
post #5 of 15 Old 04-11-2009, 01:51 PM

View turn072's Photo Album My Photos
Beginning help