Wood questions - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 09-17-2010, 12:29 PM Thread Starter

View jrflat's Photo Album My Photos
Wood questions

I have prepped some wood for turning from some downed trees and one of the trees is an Ash tree that died. Is it still ok to turn that wood if it is from a diseased tree that died? To help it dry out I did apply wax to the ends to stop the spliting but I noticed that on some of them there is some mold, mildew or something green that has come up under the wax. Should I be concerned about that?

I also have a friend that has some downed maple and cherry trees, I am new to woodturning so I am wondering if those are good for turning.

Thanks

John
Green Bay WI
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-17-2010, 03:34 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
Turn away. No problems. If there is a lot of mold I scraper it off or use a hose to get rid of it but I've never had a problem when I didn't. You might be different however so take some precautions. As far as the dead tree. It doesn't matter at all, go for it.
post #3 of 7 Old 09-18-2010, 08:58 AM

View Old61's Photo Album My Photos
Dead trees, furniture, scrap bin, it is all fair game.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 09-18-2010, 12:15 PM
Still got all 10

View Gary0855's Photo Album My Photos
Dead stuff is pre-dried for you.... as long as the grain is tight, no checks, and no punk wood. Take a ice pick or something like it and stick the wood. Ash is hard so it shouldn't go in at all. If it is soft, don't try to chuck up on that wood or set your centers in it, it will tear out and become a projectile.
Punky wood will not finish well at all, so make sure you turn it out of the piece.

Maple and Cherry are great woods to turn, nice tight grain, and finish well.
post #5 of 7 Old 09-22-2010, 08:28 AM
Saw Miller Australia

View MAPLEMAN's Photo Album My Photos