wood lathe chuck - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 11-12-2009, 09:15 AM Thread Starter

View birdcarver's Photo Album My Photos
wood lathe chuck

I am new at wood turning, In the 2 weeks I have had the lathe I have turned a few bases that I use for displaying my bird carvings. I used the 4 inch faceplate that came with the lathe. I also have a screw chuck that came with ir also. But now I need some advise from you guys. I am looking at chucks on ebay, and there are serveral different types. My lathe is a king-seeley/craftsman with 3/4x16 tpi
I know nothing of chucks , most of my turning will be display bases but I want to try smaller vases, mini birdhouses,ect.
What would be a good chuck for me to start with. what I have learned so far is that One Way seems the "best" but I don;t want to spend that much at this time.
Also another question....when I use the faceplate, it is hard to get off the spindle. I read where there are "washers" that are available to keep this from happening. any thoughts on this?
Thanks again
Tom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 11-12-2009, 09:27 AM
This Space For Rent

View slatron25's Photo Album My Photos
Tom,
The washers can be found here: http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/st...e_washer?Args=

As far as chucks, I've got one of these: http://www.woodcraft.com/Family/2005185/2005185.aspx and am quite happy with it.

Grizzly also has chucks, I haven't used one but have read good things about them.

Tim
post #3 of 6 Old 11-12-2009, 11:30 AM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
First of all make sure you get a chuck designed for woodturning. The 3 jaw scroll chucks and 4 jaw independant chucks designed for metal lathes won't hold the wood securely enough.