what do i need??? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 03-26-2012, 02:52 PM Thread Starter

View b-stick's Photo Album My Photos
what do i need???

i have a rockwell 10" and i want to start turning some bowls, pots, pens, and some other small things..

what all do i need to get started do this??

im new to the turning world and i have been messing with a few dowel rods from lowes..

all i have right now is a set of turning chisels and a spur chuck..

ive looked at all the different chucks and things but i dont know what is what..

ive looked at the collet things to...what are those for?

thanks

boomer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-26-2012, 03:03 PM

View BigJoe16's Photo Album My Photos
to turn bowls you can use the normal centers on the lathe but it is hard. You cant do as good of a job that way but it can be done. You should invest the money in a 4 jaw chuck with the different jaws and a chuck screw. They cost anywhere from about $100 up to over $200 depending on the brand and quality. You could buy a bunch of tools to use that other people tell you to get and realize you dont like using them. So i recammend getting the cheap tools around $20 from PSI and finding the ones you like before spending alot of money. I have many of these tools and really like them.
As for collets I dont really know, Ive never used them or looked into them. Some turners use them alot and like them though.
post #3 of 10 Old 03-26-2012, 03:11 PM Thread Starter

View b-stick's Photo Album My Photos
what is a faceplate and is it needed it what i want to do?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 03-26-2012, 03:23 PM

View BigJoe16's Photo Album My Photos
A face plate mounts on the lathe spindle like a chuck but it has holes in it the you screw the block of wood onto instead of clamping it on a chuck. it can be used to turn bowls and it would work for you. There fairly cheap and usefull to have.
post #5 of 10 Old 03-26-2012, 03:50 PM