what causes this? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
learning to turn bowls.

View Foresta Design's Photo Album My Photos
what causes this?

I'm kinda new to turning and all the pen blanks I've made this has happened. I'm going through tubes like crazy. Why is the tube seizing onto the shaft? Any ideas?
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:21 PM

View davidpensfan87's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foresta Design
I'm kinda new to turning and all the pen blanks I've made this has happened. I'm going through tubes like crazy. Why is the tube seizing onto the shaft? Any ideas?
Is that the end mill that it is doing it on?
post #3 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:33 PM Thread Starter
learning to turn bowls.

Not sure what you mean by that. I'm trying to ream the hole. Here is a different picture.

Name:  ForumRunner_20120605_143106.jpg
Views: 137
Size:  34.1 KB
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:33 PM

Also, what type of glue are you using and how long are you letting it dry?
post #5 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:35 PM

Quote:
Not sure what you mean by that. I'm trying to ream the hole. Here is a different picture.
And yes that's the end mill, it's also known as barrel trimmer.
post #6 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:39 PM

When your reaming the blank, is the tube coming loose or is the blank "blowing up"? Is the tube stuck to the shaft?
post #7 of 20 Old 06-05-2012, 02:40 PM

View duncsuss's Photo Album My Photos
What are you attempting to do in that photo?

I ask because the only time I ever use the barrel trimmer (a.k.a. end mill) is AFTER the tube has been glued into the pen blank. In that photo, it doesn't look like there is a pen blank.