Wet blank to dry bowl... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 01-21-2010, 12:27 PM Thread Starter

View roughhewn's Photo Album My Photos
Wet blank to dry bowl...

I'm new to turning and tend to figure many things out through trial and error. However, I can't seem to keep my work from checking and warping once turned. I start with wet blanks, and almost always end with dry firewood. How can I keep it the way I made it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 01-21-2010, 12:35 PM

View Dvoigt's Photo Album My Photos
If you are starting with wet wood, you need to rough turn it, let it dry (it will dry alot quicker then too) and then once it is dry you can finish turning it.

See what we offer at HandmadeWoodGifts and become a fan of our Facebook page
post #3 of 9 Old 01-21-2010, 12:35 PM

View CivilEngineer13's Photo Album My Photos
If your turning green wood you have to leave it thick and let it dry for 6 months or so. DNA or wax is a good way to help with cracks and checking. Then put it back on the lathe and finish turning it. If you turn a piece of green to final thickness and leave it, it will crack 9 times out of 10.

I thought I wanted a career, turns out I just wanted paychecks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 01-21-2010, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

View roughhewn's Photo Album My Photos
Wow, that was quick. Thanks.
post #5 of 9 Old 01-21-2010, 10:40 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
When wood dries it shrinks. If the outside dries and shrinks and the inside is still wet and not shrinking something has to give. What you have to do is make the wood dry evenly. first of all turn the pieces to the same thickness, bottom and all. That means the whole bowl will dry at the same rate.
You didn't mention where you cut the wood from the log. If you take a slice off the end with the pith in the middle it will almost always crack. Split the wood at the heart and cut your bowl from one of the halves.