Vibration frustration - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 02-20-2010, 09:24 AM Thread Starter

View athorp's Photo Album My Photos
Vibration frustration

I am relatively new to turning and I am looking to solve a vibration problem when I am turning spindles. I have a Powermatic #45 and I am wondering if my drive center is worn. I think it is a #2 Morse. Should the collar with the four drive spurns bottom out against the drive spindle? Should I be able to easily remove the center after turning? Or should it require some force to remove the center?

-Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-20-2010, 01:21 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos
We probably need a little more information. Are you turning a thin or long piece. If so vibration or chatter is a common problem. Vibration is do to flexing of the wood. There are a lot of causes but mostly it's too much pressure on the bevel of the tool.
To eliminate the chatter you first need to make sure your tools are very sharp. On a skew if it will shave hair off your arm it's perfect. Less than that and it will work but takes more pressure which of course can cause more chatter.
The first thing to do is to make sure you have the drive center firmly in place so it won't slip. Then tighten up the tailstock. Now back the tailstock off until it acts like it's trying to slip. Increase the tailstock pressure just a little. To much pressure from the tailstock will cause the wood to flex.