turning wet wood - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 08-21-2010, 02:48 PM Thread Starter

View djnoble's Photo Album My Photos
turning wet wood

So I'm new to turning. I'm interested primarily in making bowls.

I hit the jackpot yesterday when I came home from work to find an oak tree being cut down across the street from me. I asked the guys if I could have some logs, and they told me take all I wanted. So now I have a ton of white oak bowls in my back yard just waiting to be turned.

I've already turned a couple. My question is, now what? How long will it take them to dry before I can finish them?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 08-21-2010, 09:41 PM
This Space For Rent

View slatron25's Photo Album My Photos
Nice find. Provided you turned them down to about 10% of their diameter 6 months at the least. We probably need more info such as size. Do you have an end grain sealer? Are they in a paper bag or wrapped in newspaper. Oh yea, without pics it didn't happen.

Tim
post #3 of 13 Old 08-21-2010, 11:30 PM
Kevin's Boss

View Mrs. Texas Timbers's Photo Album My Photos
We have lots of wood, but it is all dry. I have yet to turn anything green. Sorry, can't help you out.

"To everything...Turn! Turn! Turn!"
Adapted entirely from the Book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible (with the exception of the last line) and put to music by Pete Seeger in 1959.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 08-30-2010, 06:46 PM

View misfire's Photo Album My Photos
I dont know if you have access to this or not, but if you can get a large barrel of denatured alcohol, drop the unfinished bowl in the alcohol and allow it to soak iin that for one hour per 1/4" of thickness. So if it is 1/2" thick, soak for 2 hours. Pull the bowl out and allow it to dry overnight. It should dry down to 8-10% over night
post #5 of 13 Old 08-31-2010, 07:53 PM

View john lucas's Photo Album My Photos