turning purple heart?? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 02-20-2009, 08:12 AM Thread Starter

View jeepturner's Photo Album My Photos
turning purple heart??

I am new to turning and My wife just bought me some purple heart to make some bottle stoppers. I was wondering after i turned one last night it lost all the purple coloring. Am i doing something wrong> Do i need to do anything special?.. any help would be great!

Thanks
Jason
Auburn PA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-20-2009, 08:46 AM

View CivilEngineer13's Photo Album My Photos
I may be wrong (most likely anyway ) but I believe it gets its purple coloring as it is exposed to the air. I'm sure I'll be quickly corrected!

I thought I wanted a career, turns out I just wanted paychecks.
post #3 of 8 Old 02-20-2009, 08:48 AM
havin fun gettin it done

View wdkits1's Photo Album My Photos
Purple Heart

Hi Jason

I use alot of purple heart in my Intarsia and you are correct that fresh cut or turned PH will lose it's color. Have no fear, just set it in the sunlight or under fluorescent lights for a day or two and it will naturally regain it beautiful purple color. Another little trick that I have discovered,although crude is to spit on it ,and it will almost instantly turn purple.Weird huh!

Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 02-20-2009, 08:57 AM

View mmtools's Photo Album My Photos
Another "tip" Since purpleheart is such a "stringy" grained wood, when sanding on the lathe, turn the lathe off and sand or finish with the grain. helps to get scratch marks out!

Mike O
Vegetarians, and their Hezbollah-like splinter faction, the vegans ... are the enemy of everything good and decent in the human spirit. - Anthony Bourdain
Toolsandmachinery.com
post #5 of 8 Old 02-20-2009, 12:43 PM

View Dvoigt's Photo Album My Photos
Also, if you use tung oil on it, it tends to brown up. And I hear that it turns brown over time too.