Turning Lilac? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 06-30-2008, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member from MN

View Daveb's Photo Album My Photos
Turning Lilac?

I was shrub trimming this weekend. I have an old, sprawling lilac with a long 8-10 ft dead branch that is about 6-7 inches at the base. The base has some cracks in it, but there are some solid sections that are less thick.

Is lilac interesting to turn? And how small dia. should I save/not save? I am new to turning. I do not have a pen kit or tools, just an old Sears lathe and very basic tools. I thought the branches might be good to practice with. I have little experience with the lathe.

dave

p.s. my wife wants me to "cut that thing down!" But in my eyes, I see it as turning potential. So I don't want to cut it until I know what I want to do with it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-30-2008, 05:22 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
lilac

Dave,
Lilac is good to turn. I made a vase out of chunk someone gave me. It was a ratty looking piece of wood but once turned, was pretty nice. Lilac has a flowery flagrence when turning, very nice. You could probably make the upright parts of candlestick holders, pens, winestoppers, just to name a few things. Go for it, have fun.
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 9 Old 07-01-2008, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member from MN

Mike, you're right! I cut off a chunk last night and made a small tool handle. It was much easier to turn than the maple I tried with my last project this winter. Here's a photo. I really like the wood coloring.

Turning Lilac?-handle.jpg

Now I need to search for Niki's post on how to make a jig to drill a center hole in the handle for the tool shaft. I have a vague recollection that he posted something on that.

Any other suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 07-02-2008, 02:14 AM

View Mitch Cholewinski's Photo Album My Photos
Daveb