Turning Bowls - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-24-2007, 03:06 PM Thread Starter

View Brian Dunham's Photo Album My Photos
Turning Bowls

I am new to this part of woodworking. I saw on a show that you use green wood to turn bowls, is this true?
Thanks Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-24-2007, 04:04 PM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome. You can use dry or green. Most bowl turners prefer fresh wood because it is easier to turn. But of course then you have a green bowl that can be in 3-4 pieces when it dries . Doing a little research on which types of wood turn best green is a good start. And how to slow the drying.

All I can say is if you are new to this, you have alot to learn. Firstly, you came to a good place to do just that (without having to do it all the hard way). But having alot to learn means alot of fun learning . That's what it's all about for me, learning new stuff.

Feel free to post pictures of your new adventures, and ask any questions you have. I bet someone can answer them pretty quick, there are some pretty skilled turners as members here.
post #3 of 6 Old 12-24-2007, 10:08 PM

View Mitch Cholewinski's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum Brian. Yes, wet turning is a lot of fun as is dry wood turning but you need to find out the differences pretty quick if you don't want to experience some turning failures. Nothing hard, just get a good book. Best of luck. Mitch
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 12-27-2007, 06:28 PM

View Jaxx's Photo Album My Photos