Turning Books - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 08:33 AM Thread Starter

View jwjw12's Photo Album My Photos
Turning Books

Need some help. I am a Technology teacher in upstate NY and started turing this past fall. My students wanted to so I am going to be getting a turning class started for next year. We have two lathes one we had is a Delt 10" and recently just purchased a new Grizzly 16". My administration loves the bowls that a few of my kids have been making; she approached me about having some extra money for books for this year. I can get 5 books for turning. She said that it doesn't matter where they come from I just need the book name.

My question is what would be the best five books for me to get? I have some kids that are just starting and I have a few that have started to really start getting good and wanted to be challenged.

Any help would be great.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 08:42 AM

View Nate Bos's Photo Album My Photos
My Dad got me a turning book called "Wood turning: a foundation course" By Keith Rowley. It is an amazing begginners book and really helped me in my technique.
post #3 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 09:48 AM

View wildwood's Photo Album My Photos
Keith Rowley’s book Foundation Course, really outstanding.

I would look at some of his books or dvd’s.
http://www.richardraffan.com/node/72

The Frugal Woodturner by Ernie Conover another book that may interest you and students.

Would definitely stay away from books by Mike Darlow, an outstanding wood turner but articles and books too wordy!

Some really outstanding DVD's out there which might help whether looking for basic information, turning spindles or bowls.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 02-06-2012, 09:53 AM

View Glidden's Photo Album My Photos