Thompson Lathe Tools! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 05-27-2012, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
dmh

View dmh's Photo Album My Photos
Thompson Lathe Tools!

Just had to share a little gloat, experience, show off a bit and give a thank you.

I asked John Lucas a while back what he would recommend for a first bowl gouge and he recommended a ½ inch from Thompson Lathe Tools. I ended up ordering a ½ inch V shaped and a ½ inch scraper.

I ordered them on a Friday afternoon and they were in my mailbox on Monday. Very fast shipping!

Once I got some handles made all I could say is “HOLLY COW”, what a difference from my HF set. They hold an edge so much longer. (How much longer I’m not real sure. I find myself going to the grinder just out of habit and they will cut off the same fine slivers that they did before I touched them up.)

Being my first bowl gouge I’m still learning the in’s and out’s and how to work it. I haven’t destroyed TOO many pieces yet, but I have to say “that sucker will cut some wood!”.

John thanks for the recommendation.

I ended up making my handles out of 1 inch solid aluminum round stock covered with some tubing I found at Home Depot.

Anyways, if anyone is looking for some quality chisels check out Thompson. I am more than happy.

Thompson Lathe Tools!-2imag0291.jpg

Thompson Lathe Tools!-1imag0290.jpg

Mark
only 84 more to go...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-27-2012, 08:02 PM
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE

View BassBlaster's Photo Album My Photos
I too just recently got a new Thompson at the reccomendation of others. I gut the 1/2" U and your right, that baby will cut some wood.