Tennon for Bowl turning - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 18 Old 12-07-2011, 04:40 PM Thread Starter

View TomC's Photo Album My Photos
Have seen a couple of ways to attach a bowl blank to the chuck for hollowing the inside. One is a simple tenon. The other is a recess is cut in the bottom of the blank and the chuck jaws expand in this recess. Is there an advantage to one over the other? It look like you could incorporate the recess in the bowl design verses cutting off the tenon. Also, I'm not sure how to support tail stock end while cutting the recess. As you can tell I'm new to bowl turning.
Thanks, Tom

Last edited by TomC; 12-07-2011 at 04:44 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 12-07-2011, 04:50 PM

View sawdustfactory's Photo Album My Photos
To cut a recess to mount the bowl, if the tailstock is in place you turn away most of the recess and then just carve of the little remaining nub. This is assuming you are turning the outside of the bowl between centers. If you are face plate mounting or screw chuck mounting the blank, you can just take the tail stock out of the way when you get to that point. As far as an advantage, it's more a of a preference thing. How do you like/want the bowl to look?

That bowl was perfect right up until that last cut...
post #3 of 18 Old 12-07-2011, 04:52 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Tom,
the tenon is definitely the stronger method of the two. With a recess, you run the risk of overtightening and cracking the bowl. Not tight enough and too aggressive of a cut and the bowl can fly off. You can mount your blank between centers and cut either a tenon or a recess. You'll have to leave just a small nub of wood where the tailcenter is and then trim it off after removing the blank from the lathe. A small carving chisel works well for that.
Mike Hawkins
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 Old 12-07-2011, 05:22 PM

View NCPaladin's Photo Album My Photos