steering wheel spinner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 09-25-2008, 01:49 AM Thread Starter

View life-long novice's Photo Album My Photos
steering wheel spinner

Hi. I am new to turning wood, and would like to start with a steering wheel spinner. I am handicapped, so it is necessary to have one of these. Since it's a relatively small piece of wood (probably no bigger than a 6" cube to start with), and won't be very intricate (basically a somewhat flattened sphere), I would like it to be the most gorgeous piece of wood available for purchase. Also something not inclined to break too easy. I plan to spend entirely too much time on this, and will give it a flawless finish. Any suggestions on what wood to use?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 09-25-2008, 09:04 AM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
I made a gearshift knob for my jeep out of a piece of canary wood. Very nice looking wood, dense, machines well and polishes up real well. Cocobolo is one of the prettiest woods in my opinion. It would make a suitable knob. Good luck,
Mike Hawkins
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	006.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	4915  

Name:	002.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	4916  

post #3 of 13 Old 09-25-2008, 01:14 PM
Ozark Hillbilly

View Terry Beeson's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to Terry Beeson
Quote:
Originally Posted by life-long novice View Post
...I would like it to be the most gorgeous piece of wood available... I plan to spend entirely too much time on this, and will give it a flawless finish...

I LOVE YOUR ATTITUDE!!!!

What about a laminated piece of several different woods put together in such a way as to make a nice rainbow effect? Sort of like those knife handles you see and some of the bowls made by some of the turners here.